Consolation

As I lay here searching for consolation about my problems on the trek and the impact it may be having on my companions, it occurs to me that perhaps a worse fate awaited us in the mountains and that it was not yet our time. Perhaps I should be grateful that the trek was essentially a non-starter, and that salvation was swift.

Just a thought.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chuck
    May 05, 2011 @ 13:27:26

    Alec,

    Yes it is disappointing but there are many trekkers and climbers stll left in mountains because they didn’t obey what their body told them to do. There is an old mountaineering axiom, “getting there is optional, getting back is mandatory”. You’ll get another shot at it.

    Chuck

    Reply

  2. Alec Whitehouse
    May 05, 2011 @ 13:35:07

    Thank you for enerything, Chuck. We’ve still put in some great time here and have alot to share.

    Reply

Leave a comment